Teaching children to help others

Recently I noticed that my daughter was purposely ignoring other girls in her class that wanted to be her friends.

I approached her about it but she just smiled not thinking that it was a big deal.

 

This little girl was fascinated with becoming my daughters friend and would even ask to help pack up her belongings when it was time to go home.

I told my daughter that she needed to be friends with this girl who was being nice to her.

 

Raising caring children

I realised that my child needed to be more caring and to achieve this I’d have to associate a good feeling with helping others.

So I now get my daughter to help me, especially in the kitchen where she loves to be. She gets rewarded for her good actions and her bad actions get no positive attention at all.

 

She seems to wanto help me more but I’m not quite sure that she I doing it out f care, just for the love I give back.

pI know she is my daughter but she can be very mean and I have to change n her ways now before she tuns into the bad girl at school.

3 thoughts on “Teaching children to help others

  1. Great post.. thought provoking.. It is quite challenging at times to nurture compassion and a ‘helping’ spirit within a child. I guess most of the time I think an element of compassion or the desire to help is also inherent within a child. Our role as parents is to nurture that as much as possible. I try to do this by example myself, eg, If my own friends or family need help I will try and assist them. I hope that my child will absorb that and inculcate the same attitude. It is great that you are encouraging her to help around the kitchen! That will give her a sense of responsibility too.
    All the best 🙂

    1. Thank you for your comment. I think that leading by example is a great idea and I try to do so as much as possible. For some reason she is far meaner than my other children but she is also much smarter. I think she gets bored easily and impatient with other children.

      1. You’re welcome…
        Your observations are probably accurate- her intelligence/smart way of thinking, is perhaps making her frustrated with other children. In some circumstance like that, it sometimes (not always) works to ‘massage’ their intelligent sense of ego (ego in a good way, not arrogance) by giving them a sense of responsibility for others- especially if the other kids are younger. “Hey look, they need a bit of help because they may not think about things in the same way as you. So may be you can help them?” This idea of letting them think they are far smarter helps in them adopting a ‘supervisory’ role. I don’t know if I am expressing myself so clearly, but I hope you understood where I am coming from! Please ignore if u think I am being a patronising so&so!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

