What Children Understand

Wow, it is amazing what children pick-up on. There is no hiding anything when they get to be over three years old. Why didn’t anyone tell me this?

Even having scattered conversations with my wife throughout the day seems to rearrange into comprehensible information inside my children’s heads. Then I face a barrage of questions about my work, bills and who is fighting with who.

The only escape is a second language provided the children don’t understand that as well.

Unfortunately for my parents I understood them when they spoke in their mother tongue trying to hide the conversation.

Deception

I’ve come to the conclusion that there is no point in deceiving the kids about things. But when it comes to that which does not concern them such as Bills, Money and other Adult things that is where I stop talking and they don’t get involved.

Because they are children and don’t need to know about the hard struggle, just the happy bits.

They Understand

Despite how basic their understanding of events and information is; it is a fact that they understand. Whether they just associate bad feelings with a word, it doesn’t matter because the connection has been made.

I’m going to be more careful when I speak and act around my children from now on and I suggest that you do so too.

7 thoughts on “What Children Understand

  1. I can remember being at my friend’s house and translating what her grandparents were saying. They spoke Yiddish which is a lot like German, and that was our 2nd language at home. Can’t hide anything from kids!

  2. Agreed. My guy and I used to spell over our kids’ heads, but they still figured out the conversation. We figured that we could talk about anything, but not bicker or argue in front of them. That’s the disturbing part for a child.

Leave a Reply

